Paris Junior College Free Classes

Summer registration now open at Paris Junior College | Free |

Ten free online courses are being offered by the Paris Junior College Continuing Education Department, now through June 30, 2020. The courses are available 24 hours a day and are self-paced. Students will have three months to complete the course. Starting July 1, the courses return to the regular price of $125. To view the courses, go to and type “free” in the search box that appears at the top of the page. The following courses will appear:

  • Creating Web Pages
  • Creating WordPress Websites
  • Fundamentals of Supervision and Management
  • Twelve Steps to a Successful Job Search
  • Keys to Effective Communication
  • Managing Customer Service
  • Marketing Your Business on the Internet
  • Personal Finance
  • Small Business Marketing on a Shoestring
  • Individual Excellence

paris junior college alumni

Paris Junior College (PJC) is a public community college with three campuses in Texas: Paris, Greenville, and Sulphur Springs. The college was founded in 1924 as a campus of Paris Independent School District. Nearly 5,000 students are enrolled at the college.

Service area

As defined by the Texas Legislature, the official service area of PJC consists of the following:[2]

the Paris Independent School District,
the part of the Prairiland Independent School District that was formerly the Cunningham School District,
the municipality of Paris, Texas,
all of Lamar and Delta counties,
the Detroit Independent School District and Clarksville Independent School District and the Rivercrest Independent School District that is in Red River County (formerly known as the Talco-Bogata Consolidated Independent School District),
the North Hopkins Independent School District, Sulphur Bluff Independent School District, Sulphur Springs Independent School District, Miller Grove Independent School District, and Cumby Independent School District, located in Hopkins County,
the Honey Grove Independent School District located in Fannin County
the Fannindel Independent School District located in Fannin and Delta counties,
all of Hunt County, except the portion located in the Terrell Independent School District, and
the portion of the Prairiland Independent School District located in Red River County.

The Gymnasium in July 2015


Their school mascot is the Dragon and the school colors are green and gold. The men’s teams go by “Dragons” while the women’s teams are “Lady Dragons.” The athletic teams compete in the Southwest Junior College Conference of the NJCAA. PJC offers athletic scholarships in baseball, softball, and men and women’s basketball.[3]

The Henry P. Mayer Center for the Musical Arts in July 2015

Notable alumni

A. M. Aikin Jr. Texas state legislator and lawyer
James R. Biard (c. 1951), engineer and inventor
Brenda Cherry, civil rights activist
Marsha Farney (c. 1990), member of the Texas House of Representatives from District 20 in Williamson County
Jim Hess, former college football coach and NFL scout
Eddie Robinson Former Professional Baseball player, coach, and executive

Leave a Reply